Wednesday, October 28, 2015

Authors and illustrators confirmed for ceremony

The list is growing daily but heres the latest information.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you all to the Sheffield Children's Book Award Ceremony at the CrucibleTheatre in Sheffield on the 12th November!

Peter Bently
Sebastien Braun
Salina Yoon
Steve Anthony
Michelle Robinson
Jim Field
Kes Gray
Josh Lacey
Jonny Duddle
Lara Williamson
Dave Shelton
Virginia Bergin
G. R. Gemin
Alex Gutteridge
Hilary Robinson
Martin Impey

Wednesday, August 19, 2015

Award ceremony author confirmations

Its an exciting time of year for us here at Book Award HQ. The votes are all in and the winner be announced on the 12th November at the Crucible Theatre!
All the authors and illustraters have been sent thier party invites and so far the following have confirmed they will be coming along. Remember to keep checking here for updates.

G R Gremin

Giancarlo was born in Cardiff, South Wales, of Italian parentage, and lives in London. He spends much of his non-writing time listening to a variety of music, from Jimmy Smith to Giuseppe Verdi, with whom he is particularly obsessed. He speaks enough Italian to order ice cream, cake, or both.


Growing up on the embattled Mawr Estate in South Wales, all Gemma sees are burglaries, muggings, sadness and boredom. With a dad in prison and a mum who has given up hope, she, like everyone around her, is holding on to memories of the times when happiness wasn’t so hard to find.. When her search for the scene of a perfect childhood day takes her up into the surrounding hills, Gemma is forced into a meeting with the legendary Cowgirl.

A gently funny story of a community coming together, this is a tale of happy endings in unexpected places.


Hilary Robinson (Author)
Hilary Robinson is an author, radio producer, broadcaster and feature writer. She was born in Devon and brought up in Nigeria and England. The author of over forty books for children she is best known for Mixed Up Fairy Tales. Her books have been translated into a number of languages and are sold across the world. She lives and works in London and Yorkshire.
Hilary is related to William Wordsworth via a collateral branch of the poet’s family. She has Manx ancestry.
Her next book with Martin Impey“Flo of the Somme” is due out Oct 2015.

Martin Impey (Illustrator)


The Christmas Truce

It's Christmas Eve 1914. A group of tired soldiers start singing Stille Nacht. Soldiers the other side of No Man's Land respond with Silent Night. The next day, soldiers on both sides put down their weapons and celebrate the spirit of Christmas Day with a friendly football match. In the sequel to the hugely popular Where The Poppies Now Grow, The Christmas Truce finds soldiers Ben and Ray shaking hands in friendship with Karl and Lars, a tribute to that remarkable moment in history when, for one day, peace found a place.



Tuesday, July 21, 2015

Greenaway winner 2015

William Grill (illustrator)
Shackleton's Journey

Shackleton's Journey
illustrated by William Grill
published by Flying Eye

2015 Carnegie Winner

Congratulations to Tanya.
Buffalo Soldier by Tanya Landman published by Walker Books

Engrossing from the very beginning, the strong narrative voice engages the reader in the world described; perfectly conveying raw emotions without the overuse of sentimentality. This is a beautiful, powerful piece of writing that will remain with readers long after the last page.

Thursday, July 9, 2015

Superman / Wonder Woman wins the 2015 Stan Lee Excelsior Award

DC's Story of Super Heroes Trying to Explore a Romantic Relationship Whilst Battling Huge Threats to the World Scoops First Place!

Over 4400 Ratings Forms were returned and analysed this year and the teenagers of Great Britain have chosen their winner - Superman / Wonder Woman by Charles Soule and Tony S. Daniel (published by DC Comics)!
To find out which books finished 2nd and 3rd click on the link below and visit the website...

Winners of the True Believers Award
Sheffield's High Storrs School won the True Believers Award this year. This award goes to the school that returns the most Rating Forms.